Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

All about the Mabinogion

Pupil resource

    What's it all about?

    The Mabinogion are the earliest prose stories of the literature of Britain. The stories were compiled in Middle Welsh in the 12th–13th centuries from earlier oral traditions.

    • Find out who wrote the tales.
    • Learn about the four different branches, which tell of Pwyll, Branwen, Manawydan and Math.
    • Uncover the noble quests, heroic acts and bizarre events that take place in the stories.
    • Learn about their influence on modern literary works such as J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series.

    Use this FREE teaching resource in your English Literature lessons to allow students to learn about creative writing.



    Login Required

    If you have already registered to view more details.

    Alternatively complete your details now to join The Week Junior Schools .

    Subscribe now